If you’ve been following a gluten-free diet, you are aware of the headache that comes along with eating out, especially when it comes to fast food.
Sometimes you are in a crunch and don’t have the time to plan out your meals. Don’t worry; Gone Gluten has your back. Our Taco Bell gluten-free menu is here to make your life a bit easier.
However, if you have a wheat allergy, celiacs disease, or are extremely sensitive to gluten, I do not recommend eating here. See this note on the Taco Bell website:
Taco Bell Gluten-Free Options
I combed through their entire menu and compiled a list of their gluten-free options.
Here is a quick overview:
- Power Menu Bowl
- Black Beans and Rice
- Crunchy Taco
- Hash Brown
- Doritos Locos Tacos
- Chips and Guacamole
- Refried Beans
- Seasoned Rice
Let’s jump into what’s in these menu items and a few ways to spice them up while still keeping them gluten-free. I’ll also cover some alternatives to Taco Bell that are safe for my celiac and wheat allergy friends.
1. Power Menu Bowl
This is my go-to option at taco bell when I am in a crunch. I have not personally experienced any reactions or discomfort from eating this meal.
This layered bowl starts with rice and beans, is topped with your choice of chicken, steak, or veggie, and is made complete with lettuce, tomato, cheese, guacamole, sour cream, and avocado ranch sauce.
To make this a dairy-free option, eliminate the cheese, sour cream, and avocado ranch sauce. Check out how the power bowl is made:
2. Black Beans and Rice
As the name states, this menu item is black beans and rice mixed together. Add on any of the gluten-free items to spruce up this side dish.
3. Crunchy Taco
You don’t have to miss out on a taco. Ditch the flour tortilla and go for the crunchy shell to make this item gluten-free. The taco consists of a crispy corn tortilla, ground beef, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and fat-free sour cream.
You can also switch the beef out for chicken or steak.
4. Hash Browns
The crispy hash browns are a great morning pickup. If you need a quick gluten-free snack this is a great option. Taco Bell lists this as a gluten-free item, but they state cross-contamination may occur.
I can not say with certainty that this is not cooked in a fryer with other gluten-containing items. I can say the product itself is gluten-free. You should use your own judgment when ordering this item.
5. Doritos Locos Tacos
Doritos… as a taco shell… that’s gluten-free? Yes, you read that right. Taco Bell states that this genius combination is gluten-free. Go ahead and enjoy this taco when you’re on the go.
This includes a crunchy nacho cheese shell, your choice of ground beef, chicken or steak, lettuce, and cheese.
6. Chips and Guacamole
Whether you want something extra to add to your meal or are just looking for a snack to hold you over, chips and guac will do the trick. You can also add guacamole to any of your gluten-free menu items if you’re looking for your avocado.
7. Refried Beans
Add refried beans to bulk up your power bowl or enjoy them on their own. I can’t say these won’t make you toot, but at least you’ll know it’s not from the gluten. If you’re looking to spice up your refried beans, you can top them with cheese or add them to a crunchy taco.
8. Seasoned Rice
If you would like something, simple seasoned rice is a safe bet. This is gluten-free and a great way to hold off your hunger if you’re not looking to order a full meal. Like the rice and beans, you can add multiple toppings to turn this side dish into a meal.
Are Taco Bells Sauces Gluten-Free?
Gluten has a way of sneaking its way into foods you didn’t expect. I often avoid sauces and dips altogether when I’m dining out, as I don’t want to chance it. There’s no need to worry at Taco Bell as they have an entire list of sauces that they have ensured are gluten-free. These include:
- Avocado Ranch Dressing
- Creamy Ranch Chipotle
- Cream Jalapeno Sauce
- Hot Sauce Packets
- Mild sauce Packets
- Red Sauce
- Spicy Ranch Dressing
If you also avoid dairy, you can enjoy the mild sauce and hot sauce packets.
Other Gluten-Free Toppings and Items
While I covered the main items you can order, here are all of the toppings you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Other alternatives that will meet your dietary needs and is cautious of cross-contamination.
- Reduced-Fat Sour Cream
- Sausage Crumbles
- Tostada Shells
Taco Bell Gluten-Free Competitor Choices
When ordering from Chipolete, make sure to avoid the flour tortillas. All ingredients, including corn, are free of gluten but may have experienced cross-contamination. This includes corn tortillas, corn chips, crispy corn tortillas, and corn salsa. To make sure no gluten passes its way into your food, inform the staff of your allergy and ask them to please change their gloves.
Welcome to Moes! Yes, you can enjoy the free chips and salsa without paying for it later. Moe’s has a ton of gluten-free options; however, they have not mentioned anything about cross-contamination so please use your judgment when ordering.
You can find all of Moe’s gluten-free items clearly marked on their menu. To find it online, select gluten-free in the dietary and allergen filter. Make sure to avoid their flour tortillas, and like chipotle, ask the staff to change their gloves before they begin to make your food.
Taco Bell has several options that are gluten-free. However, they can not ensure that cross-contamination does not occur. If you have celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or extreme sensitivity I suggest avoiding Taco Bell altogether. Chipotle and Moes are great alternative options. For more tips on following a gluten-free diet, check out more articles on Gone Gluten.