Taco Time Gluten-Free Menu 2022: Over 13 Great Options  

Tacos are a great handheld meal that can be helpful in a time crunch. Taco Time is serving up a variety of quick Mexican-American cuisine, but I was curious to know how gluten-free it is. 

There is no designated Taco Time gluten-free menu on their website; however, they have a master allergen sheet. While there are multiple gluten-free options, cross-contamination occurs in the kitchen as there is no designated fryer for gluten-free products. 

Below I will walk you through the gluten-free items, what items experience cross-contamination, and some great alternative options to Taco Time. 

Taco Time Gluten Free Menu 

Taco Time’s gluten-free items consist of: 

  • Crispy Corn Tortillas 
  • Tortilla Chips 
  • Ground Beef 
  • Plate it (Rice and Beans)
  • Nachos With Seasoned Beef
  • Cheddar Cheese 
  • Pepper Jack Cheese
  • Mexi Fries 
  • Refritos
  • Refritos With Chips 
  • Mexi Rice 
  • Variety of Salsas 
  • Select Sauces 

This can be a problematic menu to navigate as most gluten-free options are stand-alone items, and it involves a bit of creativity to put a meal together. Read on for an in-depth walk-through of what and how to order at Taco time. 

Cross Contamination

First, be extra careful of cross-contamination here, as Taco Time uses a shared fryer. The corn tortillas, mexi fries, and chips are all deep-fried. If you have extreme sensitivity or celiacs, it is best to avoid these options. One of the below alternatives may be a more suitable fit for your taco craving. 

Make sure to ask the staff to change their gloves upon ordering and make them aware of your medical condition. 

Tacos And More 

If cross-contamination is not an issue, you can enjoy a taco on a crispy corn tortilla. You will have to order from the individual items menu, where your only option of meat is beef.

All of the tacos listed explicitly in the tacos column are marked to contain wheat. However, the crispy taco shells and beef in the ala carte menu are free from the allergen. 

The picture below is for your reference. The wheat column is the fifth row. 

Nachos are also an option if the cross-contamination doesn’t scare you away. These crispy corned chips are topped with cheddar and pepper jack cheese, homemade salsa Fresca, refried pinto beans, sour cream, guacamole, and seasoned beef. 

They offer you your choice of meat, but we only know for sure the beef is gluten-free so it is best to stick with this option or double-check with your server. 

If you’re not willing to take the risk, there are other ways to order a meal here. Just order the “plate it” option (rice, and beans)  and add beef. 

Toppings 

Turn that boring plate of rice and beans into your own version of a burrito bowl. Add a handful of veggies or spice it up with any of the four pepper options. All of the below toppings are gluten-free. 

  • Banana pepper 
  • Cheddar Cheese 
  • Black olives 
  • Cherry Peppers 
  • Cilantro 
  • Onions 
  • Pepperoncini 
  • Pickled Jalapenos 
  • Tomatoes 

Sauces, Salsas, And Chips 

One thing is certain, you won’t have to miss out on the sauces and salsa here. There are 15 different options that are all gluten-free. Add some flair to your rice and beans concoction, or eat it alongside the crispy tortilla chips. 

Gluten-free sauces and salsa consist of: 

  • 1000 Islands 
  • Sour Cream 
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa Nuevo
  • Salsa Fresca
  • Picante Sauce
  • Fry Sauce
  • Honey Mustard
  • Hot sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Enchilada Sauce 
  • Salsa Verde
  • 5 Alarm Hot Sauce
  • BBQ sauce
  • Casa sauce 

Sides 

If your looking for a bit more to add to the entrees you just created, look no further. Taco time has a handful of sides that are gluten-free. As mentioned earlier, the products that are cooked in the fryer do experience cross-contamination, such as the mexi fries and chips. 

The Refritos (refried beans) are a safer bet for anyone a bit more sensitive. 

The below options have no gluten-containing ingredients:

  • Mexi Fries 
  • Refritos
  • Refritos With Chips 
  • Mexi Rice 

Alternative Options

Del Taco 

Unlike Taco Time, which only specifies wheat allergens, Del Taco clearly states if something contains gluten. It makes it a lot easier to navigate the menu and saves you the time from looking at each ingredient to ensure it’s actually gluten-free. 

Another pro about Del Taco is that you do not need to create your own menu items to make them gluten-free and filling. They have multiple Tacos clearly marked gluten-free and even have a dessert option. 

The below items are all gluten-free. 

  • Corn tortillas 
  • Beyond Taco
  • Beyond Avocado Taco
  • Carne Asada Al Carbon Taco
  • Avocado Veggie Bow
  • Carne Asada Fries
  • Crinkle-Cut Fries 
  • Hashbrown Sticks (5 pieces)
  • Milkshakes – strawberry, vanilla, and chocolate. 

Taco Bell 

Taco Bell is a great alternative if you’re looking for a quick gluten-free bite without getting out of your car. Just pull through the drive-through and order any gluten-free menu items below. 

  • Power Menu Bowl 
  • Black Beans and Rice 
  • Crunchy Taco 
  • Hash Browns
  • Doritos Locos Tacos 
  • Chips and Guacamole 
  • Refried Beans 
  • Seasoned Rice 

For an inclusive list, check out my recent article

Moes 

Moes seems to have the most gluten-free options. I always enjoy watching them make it in front of my eyes to ease my mind from further cross-contamination. 

Like Del Taco, Moes marks gluten as an allergen. You can find all Moe’s gluten-free items clearly marked on their menu. To narrow your item search online, select gluten-free in the dietary and allergen filter. 

Make sure to avoid their flour tortillas, and ask the staff to change their gloves before they begin to make your food. Unlike the above options, at Moes, you pick the style of your meal and go from there. 

You can order a taco with corn tortilla, burrito bowl, nachos, stack, or salad with any gluten-free toppings below. 

Protein 

  • Adobe Chicken 
  • White Meat Chicken 
  • Steak 
  • Pork Carnitas 
  • Ground Beef 
  • Bacon Pieces 
  • Fish 
  • Organic Tofu 
  • Black Beans 
  • Pinto Beans

Fresh Ingredients 

  • Diced Onions 
  • Jalapenos 
  • Diced Tomato 
  • Corn Pico 
  • Grilled Onions
  • Grilled Peppers 
  • Grilled Mushrooms 
  • Pickled Jalapenos 
  • Diced Cucumbers
  • Shredded Lettuce 
  • Black Olives 
  • Chopped Romaine 

They have a dedicated fryer for the corn chips meaning no cross-contamination here! Go celebrate with an order of Moes and a free side of chips. Don’t forget to take a walk over to their salsa bar. 

All of the sauces and salsas below are gluten-free.

  • Tomatillo 
  • El Guapo
  • Kaiser
  • Space B’Green Us
  • Tres Jalapeno
  • Guacamole 
  • Pico de 
  • Sour Cream 
  • Chipotle Ranch 
  • Southwest Vinegret 
  • Queso 

To learn a bit more about Moe’s check out this video:

Conclusion 

If you’re headed over to Taco Time, there are certainly a few things you can eat on a gluten-free diet; you will just have to get creative. Be aware that they do use a shared fryer, so if you’re looking to avoid cross-contamination as much as possible, do not order the chips, corn tortilla, or mexi fries. 

Del Taco and Taco Bell are great alternatives, but if you’re looking for a restaurant that is a bit more cautious with cross-contamination, Moe’s is your best bet.

If you’re curious to learn more about a gluten-free diet, check out my recent article

My name is Gabby, and I’m the creator of Gone Gluten. I started this site to inspire those who are currently living or trying to live a gluten-free lifestyle.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment