Is Tabasco Sauce Gluten-Free (2022)? Learn Which Flavors Are

Looking for what flavors of Tabasco sauce are gluten-free? 

There are lots of different types of this popular sauce that has more than 150 million bottles sold in more than 100 countries each year. 

I wanted to find out the answer to the question: is tabasco sauce gluten-free? So I did the research and dug deep into all the different types of Tabasco sauces and their ingredients. 

Is Tabasco Sauce Gluten-Free?

Is Tabasco Sauce Gluten-Free?

All Tabasco sauce varieties are gluten-free, according to FDA definitions. While these products don’t carry the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) symbol in their packaging, it has been tested for any traces of gluten that might be detectable. 

The results came out negative according to the research study conducted by Food Allergy Research and Resource Program (FARRP). It is a division being funded and being operated by the University of Nebraska. 

According to Codex Alimentarius Commission, any food that has a gluten level of fewer than 20 parts per million (PPM) can be considered gluten-free.

The commission has high authority since it’s composed of experts coming from the World Health Organization, U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) as well as scientists from the U.S. Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO). 

Tabasco sauce also uses gluten-free ingredients such as distilled vinegar, Avery Island salt, Jalapeño chili pepper, cornstarch, water, xanthan gum, as well as ascorbic acid. 

Tabasco sauce may need to get other certifications such as the Gluten-Free Certification Program (GFCP) from the BRC Global Standards, as well as the gluten-free certification coming from NSF International.

Taken from the Tabasco website

Tabasco Sauce Ingredients List

All of the ingredients used in Tabasco sauce are gluten-free. Take a closer look at the Tabasco sauce ingredients list below here to see for yourself: 

Distilled Vinegar

Distilled Vinegar

This particular ingredient is controversial and quite intriguing. Based on official communication from the Tabasco company, the grain-based alcohol they used to create the distilled vinegar may contain wheat and milo grain (sorghum).

Milo grain is considered to be gluten-free. However, wheat is not.

But in their defense, the company explained that during the process of alcohol fermentation and the process of distillation, all traces of gluten are separated and are filtered out completely, making it gluten-free.

Avery Island Salt

Avery Island Salt

Tabasco sauce uses Avery Island salt. This ingredient can be found somewhere in the State of Louisiana in the United States of America. Salt doesn’t contain any kind of gluten, so it’s safe to say that this ingredient is gluten-free.

Cornstarch

Cornstarch

Corn from where pure cornstarch is produced is naturally gluten-free. However, there are cases where cornstarch can be contaminated with gluten if the manufacturing plant where the cornstarch is being produced is also making foods that contain gluten.

Luckily, the Tabasco company  McIllhenny does not fall into this category and separates their production of this product. 

Jalapeño chili pepper

Jalapeño chili pepper

Chili peppers are considered gluten-free. However, there are certain cases wherein this will not hold true. One example is when chili pepper is mixed with wheat flour considerably during the production of other foods. 

The good thing is that the company uses pure Jalapeño chili pepper in making its Tabasco sauce. Since the results of the laboratory analysis indicate that there are no detectable amounts of gluten in the Tabasco hot sauce, we can safely assume that the chili pepper used is also gluten-free.

Water

Water

Water is obviously gluten-free so this isn’t a problem. 

Xanthan Gum

Xanthan Gum

Xanthan gum is usually used in various gluten-free based cooking. Xanthan gum is one of the best substitutes for wheat gluten if you don’t want to consume gluten.

Ascorbic Acid

Ascorbic Acid

Ascorbic acid is the original form of Vitamin C. It is usually derived from corn since it is rich in Vitamin C. Ascorbic acid is gluten-free. It increases food’s shelf-life significantly and can boost nutritional value accordingly. 

Tabasco Sauce Uses in Gluten-Free Food

There’s a lot of uses for tabasco sauce on gluten-free food. It’s great on meats like chicken, pork and beef. You can use it on tacos, eggs, salads, potatoes, and much more. It’s a sauce that can spice up an otherwise bland meal. The best way is to test it out yourself and see what combinations work well. 

Conclusion

After a deep dive into the underlying ingredients of Tabasco, I have found that it is indeed gluten-free. All the tabasco lovers reading this can now breathe a heavy sigh of relief. 

To find out if other foods you love are gluten-free, check out the gluten-free section here.

My name is Gabby, and I’m the creator of Gone Gluten. I started this site to inspire those who are currently living or trying to live a gluten-free lifestyle.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment