Are Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Gluten-Free (2022)? Find Out Here

Reese’s Peanut butter cups have been one of my go-to treats since childhood. 

When I cut gluten from my diet I didn’t realize how many chocolates contained the protein. Did this mean one of my favorite candies was gone from my diet too?

Being the peanut butter fiend that I am, I immediately ran to the computer and dove into intensive research. 

I needed to know, are Reese’s peanut butter cups gluten-free?

Are Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Gluten-Free?

The original Reese’s peanut butter cups are gluten-free. Reese’s is manufactured by The Hershey Company. If you visit their website they have an extensive list of their gluten-free products. The Reese’s peanut butter cups are on this list. 

You can relax now, I know I did when I heard the news. 

Hershey’s states:

“A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain any gluten-containing grains (e.g., wheat, rye, barley) or ingredients derived from gluten-containing grains unless the ingredient has been processed to remove gluten. In accordance with U.S. Food and Drug Administration regulations, foods labeled “gluten-free” must meet these requirements and contain less than 20 parts per million gluten.”

While the original Reese’s peanut butter cups are gluten-free, there are some varieties that aren’t. Make sure to always check the product label. 

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Ingredients List  

I went a bit deeper and looked into each individual ingredient to ensure this product is gluten-free. Take a look for yourself. 

Milk Chocolate 

I’ve had difficulty finding gluten-free chocolate as many varieties are made using flour, barley, or malt. The creamy chocolate covering the outside of the peanut butter cup is made in-house by Hershey’s and contains the following ingredients. 

  • Sugar
  • Cocoa butter
  • Chocolate
  • Skim milk
  • Milk fat
  • Lactose
  • Lecithin
  • Soy
  • PGPR(Polyglycerol polyricinoleate)

Each of these ingredients is gluten-free. This means you can also enjoy Hershey’s original milk chocolate candy bar. 

Peanuts 

Peanuts, as well as peanut oil, peanut flour, and peanut butter, are all naturally gluten-free. 

Unfortunately, these products are often processed in a factory where cross-contamination takes place. The peanuts used to make the creamy Reese’s filling are processed in an allergy-tested plant separate from gluten-containing products. 

Sugar

Sugar gives this salty treat the sweetness it needs to create the perfect combination.   

Sugar is a simple carbohydrate that is derived from either sugar beets or sugar cane. It is naturally gluten-free.

Salt 

Salt, a seasoning I’m sure we are all very aware of. This mineral is composed primarily of sodium chloride and is gluten-free. 

Dextrose 

Dextrose is a simple sugar that is often used in baking. It is normally made from corn or wheat, however, it is highly processed and the gluten is fully removed from the final product. Celiac Disease Foundation deems this to be gluten-free. 

TBHQ (Preservative)

TBHQ stands for tert-butylhydroquinone and is a synthetic compound. This antioxidant is used to protect foods from discoloration and allows the product to maintain a longer shelf life. Although this additive has raised health concerns, it is gluten-free.  

Citric Acid 

Citric acid is an antioxidant that can be found naturally in produce and citrus fruits. It is regularly used in cooking for its flavor and as a preservative. Reese’s uses this ingredient to keep the product fresh. It is gluten-free. 

Conclusion 

After a thorough check of each ingredient, it is safe to say Reese’s peanut butter cups are gluten-free. My fellow chocolate and peanut butter enthusiast can relax now, all’s right with the world. Check out this article to find out other gluten-free Reese’s products. 

My name is Gabby, and I’m the creator of Gone Gluten. I started this site to inspire those who are currently living or trying to live a gluten-free lifestyle.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment