Milk Duds are the little misshapen confectionary treats beloved by moviegoers and candy fans alike. But are Milk Duds gluten-free?
Yes. I analyzed the 17 ingredients in Milk Duds and they are gluten-free. Although they don’t have GFCO certification, they meet FDA regulations for containing less than 20 parts per million gluten.
Read on to find out alternatives to milk duds and gluten-free certifications standards.
What Are Other Gluten-Free Alternatives to Milk Duds?
Milk Duds have been manufactured by various companies over the years, before being acquired by Hershey Food Corporation in 1996. They produce Milk Duds to this day.
Gluten-Free Hershey’s Products
If Milk Duds aren’t your thing, there are plenty of other gluten-free options to choose from. One of my favorites being Reese’s. Other gluten-free Hershey’s candies include:
- Almond Joy
Hershey’s biggest competitors, Mars and Nestle, also offer gluten-free candy options.
Neither company appears to maintain a public listing of these products on their websites but expects consumers to do their due diligence and read the listing of ingredients to confirm their alignment with their dietary restrictions.
Gluten-free mars Products
A review of the ingredients of some of Mars’ most popular products reveals that Snickers, Milky Way Caramel and Midnight and 3 Musketeers bars appear to be gluten-free.
Gluten-free Nestle Products
As for Nestle, the Celiac Disease Foundation has compiled a listing of some of their more popular gluten-free candy options (some of which make for a good alternative to Milk Duds), including:
Types Of Gluten-Free Accreditation
There are multiple gluten-free certifications. Two popular labels you may see are from the Food and Drug Administration and the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA deems that a product is gluten-free if it contains less than 20 parts gluten per million. As such, Milk Duds are listed as gluten-free on the Hershey website.
Gluten-Free Certification (GFCO)
Milk Duds do not carry GFCO certification. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization regulates products for gluten content. Their standards are twice as stringent as those of the FDA. To carry the GFCO certificate, products must contain less than 10 parts gluten per million.
GFCO is a program of the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America (GIG). It was established in 2005 under the guidance of Codex and the World Health Organization (WHO). It has ISO 17065 accreditation, awarded to bodies that certify the quality of products.
GFCO is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, but assessments are charged and must be applied for by manufacturers. Detailed analysis of all facilities is carried out to ensure they are free from cross-contamination.
It is not mandatory to carry GFCO certification to be classified gluten-free. But their approval provides reassurance to those with celiac disease and severe allergen conditions. Search for approved products.
Remember This When Buying Gluten-Free Candies Like Milk Duds
Candies may claim or appear to be gluten-free as per U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements; it’s always advisable to carefully read over the entire ingredients list to ensure it indeed is.
Ingredients can change, so candy makers like Hershey’s recommend that you check product packaging to ensure it aligns with your dietary restrictions before consuming it.